Resources by Document Type - Patents
Recommended Databases
- Derwent Innovations Index
This link opens in a new window
A very important database for patent searches, it covers the full text of the patents of more than 50 patent offices since 1963. It provides patent families, abstracts, enriched titles and citations. Online help. - Google PatentsProvides the full text of patents and patent applications. It covers the publications of 105 patent offices around the world, including those published by the following organizations: USPTO (United States Patents and Trademark Office, 1790- ), EPO (European Patent Office, 1978- ) and WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization, 1978- ). Online help.
Advanced search in Google Patents. - EspacenetFree database offered by the European Patent Office (EPO), it lists granted patents, patent applications and other types of technical information relevant to patents. Covers more than 100 countries. Online help.
- United States Patent and Trademark OfficeLaunched in 2022, Patent Public Search offers users access to full text patents and patent applications received by the (United States Patent and Trademark Office) (USPTO). Patent Public Search replaces the USPTO’s PubEAST, PubWest, PatFT and AppFT tools.
Other Useful Databases
- Canadian Patents DatabaseProvided by the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) it covers Canadian patents since 1869 and information acquired from the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Full text is provided for patents published after August 15 1978. Online help.
- PATENTSCOPEFree database provided by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). It offers access to international patent applications and facilitates searches based on chemical formulas. See online help, including «Chemical information» tutorial.
- Patent LensPlatform providing patents from more than 59 countries. It also offers scientific literature and offers search, analysis, visualization and search results export in multiple formats. Online help.
Introduction to Recommended databses
- Introduction video to Derwent Innovations Index by Clarivate Analytics.
- Google Patents Basic training video by IntellectPeritus.
- Introduction video to Espacenet by the European Patent Office (EPO).
Off-Campus Access to Documents
If you are a member of the Polytechnique Montréal community, you can access all of the Library’s electronic subscription resources from off-campus by configuring our proxy server in your browser. Direct access to some of our resources (without configuring the proxy) is also available through the links marked by an arrow 
in our list of all databases.
