Skip to Main Content
Back to the library home page
Search this Guide
Entrepreneurship > Websites
This guide provides resources to help entrepreneurs when creating a startup company
Journal & Conference Articles
Market Research and Statistics
Intellectual Property and Patents
Biographies, Blogs and Conferences
Guides and General Advices
Démarrer - Entreprises Québec
Start an Enterprise - Registraire des entreprises du Québec
Starting a business - Canada Business Network
Federal government website on starting new enterprises.
Info Entrepreneurs - Chamber of Commerce of Metropolitan Montreal
Provides information and guidance on how to start up a company.
Start or buy a business
Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC).
The 5 Steps to Starting a Business
Royal Bank of Canada.
Launch (a start-up)
HEC Montréal (Library) - Guide on entrepreneurship
As a student at Polytechnique, you can access the databases available at HEC's Library by inquiring on site at the customer service desk.
The Garage - Northwestern University
Startup Toolkit - Provides links to various tools and applications useful for startup companies.
MaRS - The Launchpad for Leading Innovators
Toronto-based organization. The "Entrepreneur's toolkit" section contains plenty of information on entrepreneurship.
Lex Mundi - Guide to Doing Business
Provides an overview of legal, political and business contexts in more than 100 countries.
Network recognized by the government, bringing together organizations working in research and innovation.
News, Events and Networking Platforms
Networking platform with information and testimonials on entrepreneurship by real entrepreneurs.
Entrepreneurs - Montreal Gazette
Website providing news about local entrepreneurship.
Meetup - Region of Montreal
International networking platform. The link brings you to the search results for the following category: "Career and business" in Montreal.
Montreal New Tech
Good source of information concerning events and activities related to startup companies in Montreal.
News website in entrepreneurship. See also the "Canadian Startup Map", in the "Resources" section.
International news and networking platform on many subjects, including entrepreneurship.
Events Management platform. Search for entrepreneurship-related events taking place in Montreal.
Training, Tutoring, Financial and Legal Assistance
Business Benefits Finder - Innovation Canada
Government of Canada. Provides free guidance on finding support and funding programs for companies.
This society's mission is to help commercialize technological innovations developed by professors and researchers from UdeM, Polytechnique and HEC.
Created by two engineers, this company's mission is to guide technology innovators in launching and commercializing new technological products at a regional or internation level.
Fondation Montréal inc.
Provides grants to entrepreneurs through various contests.
Réseau M (Fondation de l’entrepreneurship)
Provides mentoring services for entrepreneurs.
Non-profit organization offering support, funding and mentoring to young Canadian entrepreneurs.
Offers training, mentoring services, and funding to entrepreneurs.
Centre d’entreprises et d’innovation de Montréal (CEIM)
Offers guidance and mentoring to startup companies in promising market sectors.
Non-profit organization whose mission is to support entrepreneurs from Quebec through training and mentoring.
Community Futures Development Corporations (SADC) and Community Business Development Corporations (CAE)
You want to start a new company in one of Quebec's regions? The SADCs and CAEs offer guidance and funding to help you with your project.
The Business School for the World (INSEAD)
Centre for Entrepreneurship (ICE). Private school offering a program in entrepreneurship. Their website provides several resources on entrepreneurship.
Indicators and Entrepreneurship
Portrait of entrepreneurship in Quebec
General information on entrepreneurship in Quebec (including statistics).
IN FRENCH ONLY
Quebec Entrepreneurship Index - Réseau Mentorat
This indicator shows various aspects of the entrepreneurship process in Quebec (entrepreneurial culture, creative process, business succession, etc.)
IN FRENCH ONLY
Le renouvellement de l'entrepreneuriat au Québec : un regard sur 2013 et 2018
Provincial report on the renewal in entrepreneurship in Quebec 2013-2018.
IN FRENCH ONLY
Situation de l'activité entrepreneuriale québécoise - 2019
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM).
IN FRENCH ONLY
Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs, Regions and Cities
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Journal & Conference Articles >>
Sep 9, 2021 3:30 PM
Login to LibApps
Business & Commerce
Find this page on your mobile device.
Download a compatible code reader for your
Our social media
© Polytechnique Montréal