Entrepreneurship
Introduction
Market research : The application of known factors and statistics to the development of short and long-range planning to forecast the future potential of a market if certain strategies and plans are followed. This form of research also pays close attention to known, as well as inferred, data about consumer buying habits and the continuing state of the economy. Source: Termium Plus.
When performing market research, it is generally necessary to use statistical data and/or geospatial data. For more information on these types of data, consult the library's guide on statistics and geospatial data.
Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ) has developed the guide Démarre une entreprise, in which a variety of useful resources are offered to entrepreneurs. Unfortunately, this website is in French only. In addition, if you are a graduate of Polytechnique Montréal and no longer have access to the Library's resources, BAnQ provides access to certain databases that could be useful to you (e.g. ABI/INFORM collection, Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA), etc.).
How to Realize a Market Research Study
- A practical guide to market research to help you make better decisionsBusiness Development Bank of Canada.
- Market research: A key stepDesjardins.
- Étude de marché - Démarrer son entrepriseBibliothèques et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ) - IN FRENCH ONLY
- What is Market Research?Shopify.
Books
Réaliser l'étude de marché de son projet d'entreprise - Call Number: COLLECTION GENERALE - HD 30.28 L44 2004ISBN: 2100074830Publication Date: 2004
Studies, reports and information sources
Source: Pixabay, 2017.
- Publications - Économie, Science et InnovationSee the section "Études et analyses" to find economic analysis, industry profiles, etc.
IN FRENCH ONLY - Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada - Research and business intelligenceWebsite providing various information concerning Canada’s and Quebec's economy (statistics, benchmark indicators, industry profiles etc.).
- OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and DevelopmentProvide various economic analysis studies of countries throughout the world.
- The Global Competitiveness Report 2020World Economic Forum (WEF). Compilation of economic data for nearly 40 countries.
- Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM)Reports and data compilation concerning entrepreneurship in the world.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Subject(s) : Industrial Engineering - Business & Commerce
Full-Text : Partial Contents
Coverage Period : 1855-
Tutorial - Gartner This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject(s) : Business & Commerce – Computer Engineering
Coverage Period : 2003-
Access procedure: It is not necessary to respond to the functions and roles in the form. Just click on “Remind me later“
Statistical and Economical Data
- Statistics Canada - DataContains over 8,000 tables of socio-economic statistical data on the Canadian population, economy and industries.
- CHASS - Canadian Census and CANSIM
- This link opens in a new window
The "Canadian Census" tab comprises census data since 1961. Search by year and by territory according to the census geography, then choose the desired options to generate data tables.
"CANSIM" provides access to both historical CANSIM tables and current data. - Financial Performance Data of Industrial SectorsContains more than 30 performance indices. Useful for comparison with competitors within a given industry sector.
- Canadian Business Patterns - Statistics Canada
- SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)Provides access to public securities documents and information about various companies as compiled by the thirteen provincial and territorial securities regulatory authorities.
