APA 7th Citation Guide
Reference list or bibliography according to APA 7th
The reference list or bibliography is placed at the end of the document and the references are listed alphabetically by author's last name.
- For up to 20 authors, list all the last names and initials of the authors in the reference.
- For 21 authors and more, list the last names and initials of the first 19 authors, followed by an ellipsis, then list the last name and initials of the last author. (See the example Journal Article ⚊⚊> Electronic with 21 or more authors and DOI in the box at the right.)
Several documents written by the same author(s) mentioned in the same order...
...List the references chronologically, with the earliest document first and the most recent one last (APA 7th, 2020, p. 304).
Ex.: Leclerc, M., & Allen, L. (1999). Benzene...
Leclerc, M., & Allen, L. (2005). Toluene...
Several documents written by the same author(s) and with the same publication year...
...List the references in alphabetical order by title. Place a lowercase letter (a, b, c, etc.) after the year to distinguish them (APA 7th, 2020, p. 305).
Ex.: Zhang, Y. (2019a). Array antennas…
Zhang, Y. (2019b). Directional array…
...Follow the order of documents in the series (APA 7th, 2020, p. 305).
Ex.: Baheti, J. R. (2020a). Role of… (Part 1)
Baheti, J. R. (2020b). Control… (Part 2)
To learn what information the EndNote fields should contain so that the references are produced correctly, see Examples of several types of documents cited according to the APA 7th style.
References in a non-Roman alphabet
Transliterate into the Latin alphabet all the elements of a reference in a non-Latin alphabet (e.g., author, title, journal, volume, number, etc.) and provide the literal translation of the title of the document enclosed in square brackets.
For a hypothetical example of an article in Japanese, the in-text citation is: (Motoki, 2019) or Motoki (2019) and the reference is:
Motoki, I. (2019). Warau tsuki [Title of article translated in French or English]. Bijutsu Kenkyu, 31(1), 12-23. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Examples of references in a reference list or bibliography
⦁ Several types of electronic documents can be in PDF format. Cite these documents according to their type (e.g., e-book, web page, journal article, conference paper, report, etc.).
⦁ The DOI format is: https://doi.org/xxxxx (Do not add a period at the end.). If no DOI is available, mention the URL: https://xxxxx
⦁ Both DOIs and URLs can be live links (blue font, underlined: https://xxxxx) or plain text (https://xxxxx).
⦁ Both a long and a short DOI and URL are acceptable in a reference. Create a short DOI with shortDOI and a short URL with TinyURL or bitly.
⦁ To print some examples from the following list, click on their respective types (e.g., Standard + Print version + Electronic with DOI), select them, and press CTRL+P + Print Area: Selection.
Book, handbook, dictionary, encyclopedia
⦁ Capitalize only the first word of the title and the subtitle (if there is a subtitle) and the proper nouns. Do not capitalize other words.
- Ex.: Digital microfluidic biochips: Design automation and optimization
⦁ An editor is a person who prepares the contents of a document to be published. Usually, the document is a collection of texts by various authors and the editor could also be one of the authors.
⦁ Use Ed. for one editor and Eds. for multiple editors.
⦁ The DOI format is: https://doi.org/xxxxx (Do not add a period at the end.)
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of book (Edition ed.). Publisher.
Ashby, M. F. (2017). Materials selection in mechanical design (5th ed.). Elsevier.
⚊⚊> Edited book in print version
Editor, A. A., Editor, B. B., & Editor, C. C. (Eds.). (Year). Title of book (Edition ed.). Publisher.
Vital, J.-M. (Ed.). (2016). Anatomie de la colonne vertébrale: Nouveaux concepts. Sauramps Médical.
⚊⚊> Translated book in print version
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of book (A. A. Translator, Trans.; Edition ed.). Publisher. (Original work published Year)
Ching, F. D. K. (2016). Guide technique et pratique de la construction (J.-F. Perrault, Trans.; 3rd ed.). Modulo. (Original work published 2014)
In-text citation: Ching (2014/2016) or (Ching, 2014/2016)
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of book (Edition ed.). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Alexander, M., Bentur, A., & Mindess, S. (2017). Durability of concrete: Design and construction. CRC Press. https://doi.org/10.1201/9781315118413
⚊⚊> Edited electronic book without DOI
Editor, A. A., & Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (Year). Title of book (Edition ed.). Publisher. https://xxxxx
Geng, H. (Ed.). (2016). Internet of things and data analytics handbook. Wiley. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/polymtl-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4771458
Cite a book chapter only if it is included in an edited book where each chapter was written by different authors.
Ex.: All the chapters in the book Digital microfluidic biochips: Design automation and optimization were written by the same author(s) and you consulted the chapter "Defect-tolerant and routing-aware synthesis" from pages 19-41. Cite the whole book in the reference list, like in Book, handbook, dictionary, encyclopedia and mention the pages of the chapter in the in-text citation:
- In-text citation: Chakrabarty and Xu (2010, pp. 19-41) or (Chakrabarty & Xu, 2010, pp. 19-41)
- Reference list: Chakrabarty, K., & Xu, T. (2010). Digital microfluidic biochips: Design automation and optimization. CRC Press. https://doi.org/10.1201/9781439819166
Chakrabarty and Xu (2010, pp. 22-27) or (Chakrabarty & Xu, 2010, p. 29) and include the reference for the whole book in the reference list.
⦁ Capitalize only the first word of the title and the subtitle (if there is a subtitle) and the proper nouns. Do not capitalize other words.
⦁ Book titles are italicized and titles of the chapters are not.
- Ex.: Bridge engineering: Substructure design (title of the book)
- Ex.: Ti-Ni-Mo shape-memory alloys for medical applications (title of the chapter)
⦁ An editor is a person who prepares the contents of a document to be published. Usually, the document is a collection of texts by various authors and the editor could also be one of the authors.
⦁ Use Ed. for one editor and Eds. for several editors.
⦁ Use p. to mention a certain page and pp. for a page range.
⦁ The DOI format is: https://doi.org/xxxxx (Do not add a period at the end.)
⚊⚊> Edited book chapter in print version
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor, B. B. Editor, & C. C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (Edition ed., pp. Pages). Publisher.
Kamalapurkar, R., Dixon, W. E., & Walters, P. (2016). Model-based reinforcement learning for approximate optimal regulation: Stability analysis. In K. G. Vamvoudakis & J. Sarangapani (Eds.), Control of complex systems: Theory and applications (pp. 255-259). Elsevier.
⚊⚊> Edited electronic book chapter with DOI, 2nd edition
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (Edition ed., pp. Pages). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Berg, D. E. (2017). Wind energy resource. In D. Y. Goswami & F. Kreith (Eds.), Energy conversion (2nd ed., pp. 137-176). CRC Press. https://doi.org/10.1201/9781315374192-7
⚊⚊> Edited electronic book chapter without DOI, 3rd edition
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (Edition ed., pp. Pages). Publisher. https://xxxxx
Marcilla, A., Garcia, J. C., & Beltran, M. (2017). Plasticization steps. In G. Wypych (Ed.), Handbook of plasticizers (3rd ed., pp. 195-208). ChemTec Publishing. https://app.knovel.com/hotlink/toc/id:kpHPE00024/handbook-plasticizers/handbook-plasticizers
Entry in an encyclopedia (including Wikipedia)
⦁ Capitalize only the first word of the title and the subtitle of the encyclopedia, the first word of the the title of the entry, and the proper nouns. Do not capitalize other words.
- Ex.: The water encyclopedia: Hydrologic data and Internet resources
⦁ An editor is a person who prepares the contents of a document to be published. Usually, the document is a collection of texts by various authors and the editor could also be one of the authors.
⦁ Use Ed. for one editor and Eds. for several editors.
⦁ Use p. to mention a certain page and pp. for a page range.
⦁ The DOI format is: https://doi.org/xxxxx (Do not add a period at the end.)
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of entry. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of encyclopedia (Edition ed., pp. Pages). Publisher.
Rivera, M. (2007). Groundwater: Soil moisture. In F. Pedro, Jr. & E. K. Nyer (Eds.), The water encyclopedia: Hydrologic data and Internet resources (3rd ed., pp. 6-76). CRC Taylor & Francis.
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of entry. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of encyclopedia (Edition ed., pp. Pages). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Wohlgemuth, J. (2017). Photovoltaic cells. In Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology. Wiley. https://doi.org/10.1002/0471238961.16081520070125.a01.pub3
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of entry. In A. A. Editor, B. B. Editor, & C. C. Editor (Eds.), Title of encyclopedia (Edition ed., pp. Pages). Publisher. https://xxxxx
Carrington, C. D., & Bolger, P. M. (2014). Toxic metals: Lead. In Y. Motarjemi, G. G. Moy, & E. C. D. Todd (Eds.), Encyclopedia of food safety (pp. 349-351). Elsevier. https://app.knovel.com/hotlink/toc/id:kpEFS00001/encyclopedia-food-safety/encyclopedia-food-safety
⚊⚊> Article in the Techniques de l'ingénieur without editor and without DOI
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of entry. In Techniques de l'ingénieur. Éditions T.I. https://xxxxx
Boyer, F., Alamir, M., Chablat, D., Khalil, W., Leroyer, A., & Lemoine, P. (2006). Robot anguille sous-marin en 3D. In Techniques de l'ingénieur. Éditions T.I. https://www.techniques-ingenieur.fr/base-documentaire/automatique-robotique-th16/conception-modelisation-et-commande-en-robotique-42398210/robot-anguille-sous-marin-en-3d-s7856/
Boyer, F., Alamir, M., Chablat, D., Khalil, W., Leroyer, A., & Lemoine, P. (2006). Robot anguille sous-marin en 3D. In Techniques de l'ingénieur. Éditions T.I. https://bit.ly/2AHybZQ
⚊⚊> Electronic without author and without DOI
Title of entry. (Year). In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of encyclopedia (Edition ed., pp. Pages). Publisher. https://xxxxx
Image and video capture. (2006). In B. Furht (Ed.), Encyclopedia of multimedia (pp. 287-288). Springer. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/polymtl-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3036336
Include the link towards the archived version of the entry, which can be found by clicking "View history" and the time and date of the latest revision in the list.
Title of entry. (Year, Month Day). In Wikipedia. https://xxxxx
Corrosion. (2020, June 5). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Corrosion&oldid=960805536
⦁ Capitalize only the first word of the title of the dictionary, the first word of the the title of the entry, and the proper nouns. Do not capitalize other words.
⦁ The DOI format is: https://doi.org/xxxxx (Do not add a period at the end.)
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of entry. In A. A. Editor, B. B. Editor, & C. C. Editor (Eds.), Title of dictionary (Edition ed., p. Page). Publisher.
Atkins, T., & Escudier, M. (2013). Fluidization. In A dictionary of mechanical engineering (p. 140). Oxford University Press.
⚊⚊> Electronic entry with author and without DOI
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of entry. In A. A. Editor, B. B. Editor, & C. C. Editor (Eds.), Title of dictionary (Edition ed., p. Page). Publisher. https://xxxxx
Petersen, E. L., & Madsen, P. H. (2015). Wind farm. In C. J. Cleveland & C. Morris (Eds.), Dictionary of energy (2nd ed., p. 650). Elsevier. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/polymtl-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1821967
⚊⚊> Electronic entry without author and without DOI
Title of entry. (Year). In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of dictionary (Edition ed., p. Page). Publisher. https://xxxxx
Lanthanoids. (2010). In J. Daintith & E. Martin (Eds.), A dictionary of science (6th ed.). Oxford University Press. http://www.knovel.com/web/portal/browse/display?_EXT_KNOVEL_DISPLAY_bookid=3287
⚊⚊> Entry in an online dictionary with group author
⦁ "When an online reference work is continuously updated and the versions are not archived, use n.d. as the year of publication and include a retrieval date" (APA 7th ed., 2020, p. 328).
Title of dictionary. (Year). Title of entry. In Title of dictionary [dictionary]. Retrieved Date, Year, from https://xxxxx
Cambridge Dictionary. (n.d.). Cryptocurrency. In Cambridge Dictionary. Retrieved June 15, 2023, from https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/cryptocurrency
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Cryptocurrency. In Merriam-Webster dictionary. Retrieved July 15, 2023, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/cryptocurrency
⦁ All words of four letters or more in titles of journals in English should be capitalized. Also, capitalize all important words of three letters or fewer, such as nouns, verbs, adverbs, adjectives, and pronouns.
Ex.: Towards, With, Big should be capitalized, whereas in and of should not be capitalized.
- Journal of the Water Pollution Control Federation
- IEEE Transactions on Big Data
⦁ Only the first word in the titles of journals in French and the proper nouns are capitalized.
⦁ The titles and subtitles of articles start with a capital letter and all the other words that are not proper nouns are not capitalized.
- Ex.: Phosphate release and uptake in enhanced biological phosphorus removal from wastewater
⦁ The DOI format is: https://doi.org/xxxxx (Do not add a period at the end.)
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of journal, Volume(Issue), Pages.
Comeau, Y., Rabinowitz, B., Hall, K. J., & Oldham, W. K. (1987). Phosphate release and uptake in enhanced biological phosphorus removal from wastewater. Journal of the Water Pollution Control Federation, 59(7), 707-715.
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of journal, Volume(Issue), Pages. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Levesque, S., Demers, E., Brisson, J., & Comeau, Y. (2017). Treatment of a mixed wood preservative leachate by a hybrid constructed wetland and a willow planted filter. Water Science and Technology, 76(1), 164-171. https://doi.org/10.2166/wst.2017.197
Birglen, L., & Schlicht, T. (2018). A statistical review of industrial robotic grippers. Robotics and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing, 49, 88-97. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2017.05.007
⚊⚊> Electronic with 21 or more authors and DOI
⦁ For 21 or more authors, mention the first 19 authors … and the last one. The APA7th_PolyMTL style for EndNote only mentions the first 6 authors . . . and the last one. See how to change this setting in the EndNote guide.
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., . . . Author, M. M. (Year). Title of article. Title of journal, Volume(Issue), Pages. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Aad, G., Abbott, B., Abdallah, J., Abdinov, O., Aben, R., Abolins, M., AbouZeid, O. S., Abramowicz, H., Abreu, H., Abreu, R., Abulaiti, Y., Acharya, B. S., Adamczyk, L., Adams, D. L., Adelman, J., Adomeit, S., Adye, T., Affolder, A. A., Agatonovic-Jovin, T., . . . Woods, N. (2015). Combined measurement of the Higgs boson mass in pp collisions at √s = 7 and 8 TeV with the ATLAS and CMS Experiments. Physical Review Letters, 114(19). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevLett.114.191803
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of journal, Volume(Issue), Pages. https://xxxxx
Restrepo, J. D., Labelle, M.-A., Parent, S., Villemur, R., Juteau, P., & Comeau, Y. (2009). Biological phosphorus removal and denitrification of a fish farm effluent in a sequencing moving bed biofilm reactor. Water Quality Research Journal of Canada, 44(3), 233-242. https://www.cawq.ca/cgi-bin/journal/abstract.cgi?language=english&pk_article=432
⚊⚊> Advance online publication with DOI
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of journal, Volume(Issue), Pages. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Shabanian, J., & Chaouki, J. (Year). Title of the article. Powder Technology, 400, 125-130. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (in press). Title of article. Title of journal, Volume(Issue). https://xxxxx
Shabanian, J., & Chaouki, J. (in press). Title of the article. Powder Technology.
⦁ All words of four letters or more in titles of newspapers in English should be capitalized. Also, capitalize all important words of three letters or fewer, such as nouns, verbs, adverbs, adjectives, and pronouns.
Ex.: Towards, With, and New should be capitalized, whereas in and of should not be capitalized.
- Ex.: The New York Times
⦁ Only the first word in the titles of newspapers in French and the proper nouns are capitalized.
⦁ The titles and subtitles of articles start with a capital letter and all the other words that are not proper nouns are not capitalized.
- Ex.: Risques de marée noire: Le fédéral et les provinces ne sont pas prêts
⦁ Use p. to mention a certain page and pp. for a page range.
⦁ Mention all the pages. Ex.: B1, B3, B5-B7
Author, A. A. (Publication date). Title of article. Title of newspaper, Pages.
Croteau, M. (2013, February 6). Risques de marée noire: Le fédéral et les provinces ne sont pas prêts. La Presse, A14.
⚊⚊> Electronic with a news agency as author
News agency. (Publication date). Title of article. Title of newspaper. https://xxxxx
The Canadian Press. (2020, June 14). Déversement à une station de pompage de Trans Mountain. Le Devoir. https://www.ledevoir.com/societe/environnement/580806/deversement-a-une-station-de-pompage-de-trans-mountain
⚊⚊> Electronic without author (editorial)
Editorial board. (Publication date). Title of article. Title of newspaper. https://xxxxx
Montreal Gazette Editorial Board. (2017, October 6). Editorial: The end of Energy East. The Montreal Gazette. http://montrealgazette.com/opinion/editorials/editorial-the-end-of-energy-east
Author, A. A. (Publication date). Title of article. Title of newspaper. https://xxxxx
Paquin, G. (2012, December 7). Le nouveau message des sociétés. La Presse. http://affaires.lapresse.ca/portfolio/industrie-pharmaceutique/201212/07/01-4601739-le-nouveau-message-des-societes.php
⚊⚊> Webpage on a news website (HuffPost, CNN, Reuters, etc.)
Author, A. A. (Publication date). Title of article. Website. https://xxxxx
Woods, M. (2020, May 7). How do coronavirus contact tracing apps work? HuffPost. https://www.huffingtonpost.ca/entry/contact-tracing-app-canada_ca_5eb45f6fc5b6aec3671350a8?ncid=other_huffpostre_pqylmel2bk8&utm_campaign=related_articles
⦁ For instance, Québec Science, Maclean's, Protégez-vous, and National Geographic are magazines, because they are regularly published and have issues (Ex.: Québec Science of April-Mai 2020, Maclean's volume 130, issue 9 of September 1st, 2017, National Geographic of June 2020).
⦁ All words of four letters or more in titles of magazines in English should be capitalized. Also, capitalize all important words of three letters or fewer, such as nouns, verbs, adverbs, adjectives, and pronouns.
Ex.: Towards, With, and New should be capitalized, whereas in and of should not be capitalized.
- Ex.: The New Yorker
⦁ Only the first word in the titles of magazines in French and the proper nouns are capitalized.
⦁ The titles and subtitles of articles start with a capital letter and all the other words that are not proper nouns are not capitalized.
Author, A. A. (Publication date). Title of article. Title of magazine, Volume(Issue), Pages.
Robinson, M. (2016, November 7). Student downloaders beware. Maclean's, 129(44), 56-57.
Perron, F. (2013, January). Dans l’œil du Web. Protégez-vous, 25-29.
Author, A. A. (Publication date, Year, Month or Year). Title of article. Title of magazine, Volume(Issue), Pages. https://xxxxx
Gervais, M. (2013, March). Plagiat: Quel vilain mot! Plan, L(2), 46-47. http://www.oiq.qc.ca/Documents/DCAP/chroniques_PLAN/ethique_deontologie/2013_ethique_deontologie/2013_eth_deonto_PLAN_03_FR.pdf
Bilodeau, M. (2019, October 3). E-nundation: Le logiciel qui met en échec les inondations. Québec Science. https://www.quebecscience.qc.ca/inventions-de-lannee/inventions-2019/e-nundation-logiciel-inondations/
Girard-Bossé, A. (2020, September 14). Un pont fait avec de la poudre de verre recyclé à Montréal. Québec Science. https://www.quebecscience.qc.ca/technologie/pont-poudre-verre-recycle-montreal/
⦁ The magazine is the author of the article.
Title of magazine. (Publication date). Title of article. Volume(Issue), Pages. https://xxxxx
⦁ All words of four letters or more in conference names in English should be capitalized. Also, capitalize all important words of three letters or fewer, such as nouns, verbs, adverbs, adjectives, and pronouns.
Ex.: Towards, With, and Big should be capitalized, whereas in and of should not be capitalized.
- ACM Great Lakes Symposium on VLSI, GLSVLSI
- IEEE Conference on Big Data
⦁ Only the first word in conference names in French and the proper nouns are capitalized.
⦁ The titles and subtitles of conference papers start with a capital letter and all the other words that are not proper nouns are not capitalized.
- Ex.: An interconnect-aware delay model for dynamic voltage scaling in nm technologies
⦁ Use the [Type] that "matches how the presentation was described at the conference" (APA 7th, 2020, p. 332), such as [Paper presentation], [Keynote address], [Conference session], [Poster session], [Symposium contribution], etc.
⦁ The DOI format is: https://doi.org/xxxxx (Do not add a period at the end.)
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year, Date). Title of paper [Type]. Conference name, Conference location. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Zarrabi, H., Al-Khalili, A. J., & Savaria, Y. (2009, May 10-12). An interconnect-aware delay model for dynamic voltage scaling in nm technologies [Paper presentation]. ACM Great Lakes Symposium on VLSI, GLSVLSI, Boston, MA. https://doi.org/10.1145/1531542.1531557
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year, Date). Title of paper [Type]. Conference name, Conference location. https://xxxxx
Neocleous, P., Pike, E. R., & De Villiers, G. D. (2004, March 28-31). Singular value decomposition applied to wire antennas [Paper presentation]. PIERS 2004 - Progress in Electromagnetics Research Symposium, Pisa, Italy. http://www.piers.org/piers2k4Pisa/session_64/64_01.pdf
⚊⚊> Published in a volume (in print or electronic version)
⦁ See Book or handbook chapter
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (Edition ed., pp. Pages). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Nguyen, T.-H., Hoang, T.-A., & Nejdl, W. (2019). Efficient summarizing of evolving events from Twitter streams. In T. Berger-Wolf & N. Chawla (Eds.), Proceedings of the 2019 SIAM International Conference on Data Mining (pp. 226-234). SIAM. https://doi.org/10.1137/1.9781611975673.26
⚊⚊> Published in a journal (in print or electronic version)
⦁ See Journal article
Master's thesis, PhD dissertation
⦁ The titles and subtitles of a dissertation or thesis start with a capital letter and all the other words that are not proper nouns are not capitalized.
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of thesis or dissertation [Master's thesis or Doctoral dissertation, Name of institution].
Fournier, S. (2007). Gestion des changements et systèmes d'informations pour le développement de produits complexes et personnalisés [Master's thesis, École Polytechnique de Montréal].
⚊⚊> Retrieved in a database (Ex.: Proquest Dissertations & Theses)
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of thesis or dissertation [Master's thesis or Doctoral dissertation, Name of institution]. Database. https://xxxxx
Beguin, C. (2011). Modélisation des écoulements diphasiques: Amortissement, forces interfaciales et turbulence diphasique [Doctoral dissertation, École Polytechnique de Montréal]. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses. http://search.proquest.com/docview/898600503?accountid=40695
⚊⚊> Retrieved in an institutional repository or on the Internet
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of thesis or dissertation [Master's thesis or Doctoral dissertation, Name of institution]. Repository name. https://xxxxx
Abbaszadeh, S. (2019). Six-motor unmanned aerial vehicle design performance [Master's thesis, Concordia University]. Spectrum Research Repository. https://spectrum.library.concordia.ca/985364/
⚊⚊> Unpublished dissertation or thesis
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of thesis or dissertation [Unpublished master's thesis or Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. Name of Institution.
Morin, A. (2020). Title of thesis [Unpublished master's thesis]. Polytechnique Montreal.
Technical report, research report
⦁ A technical report is "a scientific paper or article describing research or other significant developments in a field of the applied sciences." (Source)
⦁ The titles and subtitles of reports start with a capital letter and all the other words that are not proper nouns are not capitalized.
⦁ When the publisher is the same as the author, omit the publisher.
⦁ Use the most specific agency as the group author and the names of parent agencies, separated by commas, as the publisher.
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of report (Report No. xxxx). Publisher.
De Santis, R. M. (2002). Enhanced tuning of industrial controllers via a dual loop pid form (Report No. EPM/RT 01-06). École Polytechnique de Montréal.
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of report (Report No. xxxx). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Broadband Forum. (2019). Conformance test plan for user services platform agents (Report No. TR-469). https://www.broadband-forum.org/technical/download/TR-469.pdf
Environics Research Group. (2019). Canadians' awareness of and confidence in automated vehicles: Final report (Registration No. POR 073-18). Transport Canada. http://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2019/tc/T46-60-2019-eng.pdf
(Here, the official author is Transport Canada. Environics Research Group. The name of the parent agency–Transport Canada–appears as the publisher.)
⦁ Use Technical Report.
⦁ If the report or publication has no number, omit it.
⦁ [Description] is optional.
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of the publication or rapport [Description]. Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Organization. (Year). Title of the publication or rapport [Description]. Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Elias, M., Hunt, J., Remucal, J., Saksa, P., & Sanchez, D. L. (2022). Biochar carbon credit market analysis: Examining the potential for coupled biochar and carbon credit production from wildfire fuel reduction projects in the Western U.S. Blue Forest. https://pacificbiochar.com/wp-content/uploads/BiocharCarbonCreditAnalysis-BFReports20221.pdf
(Here, Blue Forest published this report, although the authors have different affiliations. Blue Forest is mentioned in the report header and next to the page numbers.)⦁ The patent number includes the country code (ex.: CA).
⚊⚊> American patent (granted, in print or electronic version)
Inventor, A. A., Inventor, B. B., & Inventor, C. C. (Year patent was issued). Title of patent (Patent No. USxxxx). U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. https://xxxxx
Schirmer, A., Rude, M., & Brubaker, S. (2012). Method for producing a fatty alcohol or fatty aldehyde (Patent No. US8268599). U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. https://patents.google.com/patent/US8268599B2/en
⚊⚊> Canadian patent (granted, in print or electronic version)
Inventor, A. A., Inventor, B. B., & Inventor, C. C. (Year patent was issued). Title of patent (Patent No. CAxxxx). Canadian Intellectual Property Office. https://xxxxx
Cazzanti, L., Downs, O. B., & Danielson, M. G. (2020). Automated identification of device status and resulting dynamic modification of device operations (Patent No. CA3060877). Canadian Intellectual Property Office. https://www.ic.gc.ca/opic-cipo/cpd/eng/patent/3060877/summary.html?query=%283060877%29&type=advanced_search
Cazzanti, L., Downs, O. B., & Danielson, M. G. (2020). Automated identification of device status and resulting dynamic modification of device operations (Patent No. CA3060877). Canadian Intellectual Property Office. https://bit.ly/3iTpNXv
⚊⚊> Patent granted in other countries (in print or electronic version)
Inventor, A. A., Inventor, B. B., & Inventor, C. C. (Year patent was issued). Title of patent (Patent No. Country Codexxxx). Patent office. https://xxxxx
⚊⚊> Patent application (in print or electronic version)
Inventor, A. A., Inventor, B. B., & Inventor, C. C. (Year of filing). Title of patent application (Patent Application No. Country Codexxxx). Patent office. https://xxxxx
⦁ The titles and subtitles of standards start with a capital letter and all the other words that are not proper nouns are not capitalized.
⦁ When the publisher is the same as the author, omit the publisher.
⦁ Use the most specific agency as the group author and the names of parent agencies, separated by commas, as the publisher.
Accredited or author organization. (Year). Title of standard (Organization abbreviation Standard Standard number). Publisher.
Canadian Standards Association. (2015). Canadian electrical code, part I: Safety standard for electrical installations (ACNOR Standard C22.1-15). CSA Group.
Accredited or author organization. (Year). Title of standard (Organization abbreviation Standard number). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx
IEEE Power and Energy Society. (2018). IEEE Standard for the specification of microgrid controllers (IEEE Standard 2030.7-2017). https://doi.org/10.1109/IEEESTD.2018.8340204
Accredited or author organization. (Year). Title of standard (Organization abbreviation Standard Standard number). URL
ASTM International. (2017). Standard test method for ethylene diamine tetraacetate (EDTA) in soaps or synthetic detergents (ASTM Standard D1767–(2017)). https://compass.astm.org/EDIT/html_annot.cgi?D1767+89(2017)
Health Canada. (2010). Canadian guidelines for domestic reclaimed water for use in toilet and urinal flushing. https://www.canada.ca/content/dam/canada/health-canada/migration/healthy-canadians/publications/healthy-living-vie-saine/water-reclaimed-recyclee-eau/alt/reclaimed-water-eaux-recyclees-eng.pdf
(The webpage of this document mentions: Type: Guideline)Personal communications are "works that cannot be recovered by readers" (ex.: text messages, online chats, phone conversations, emails, lecture notes and PowerPoint presentations not available to the audience, etc.) (APA 7th, 2020, p. 260).
Cite as personal communication the documents posted on the Moodle site of a course (presentation, exercises, etc.) if they are not available to your audience. If your audience can access them, see PowerPoint presentation, lecture notes.
Cite personal communications only in the text. Do not include a reference in the reference list!
Ex. of in-text citations:
...(Comeau, personal communication, February 6, 2020)... or
...Comeau (personal communication, February 6, 2020)...
PowerPoint presentation, lecture notes
⦁ The titles and subtitles of documents start with a capital letter and all the other words that are not proper nouns are not capitalized.
⚊⚊> PowerPoint presentation retrieved on the Internet
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of the presentation [PowerPoint slides]. Source. https://xxxxx
Audevart, A. (2018). Big data, Hadoop & Spark [PowerPoint slides]. SlideShare. https://www.slideshare.net/AlexiaAudevart/big-data-hadoop-spark-87171048
⚊⚊> PowerPoint presentation retrieved on Moodle
⦁ If the audience can retrieve the document (they have access to the Moodle site of that course):
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of the presentation [PowerPoint slides]. Moodle@Polytechnique Montreal. https://moodle.polymtl.ca/
Keraron, M. (2020). ELE3000 - La propriété intellectuelle: La connaître et l’utiliser à son avantage [PowerPoint slides]. Moodle@Polytechnique Montreal. https://moodle.polymtl.ca/
⦁ If the audience cannot retrieve the presentation (they have no access to the Moodle site of the course), cite it only in the text as personal communication and do not include a reference in the reference list.
In-text citation:
…R. Plamondon (personal communication, August 26, 2019)… or
…(R. Plamondon, personal communication, August 26, 2019)…
⚊⚊> Lecture notes and other documents retrieved on Moodle
⦁ If the audience can retrieve the lecture notes (they have access to the Moodle site of the course):
Author, A. A. (Year). Title or [Lecture notes on...]. Moodle@Polytechnique Montreal. https://moodle.polymtl.ca/
ELE3000 - Siège auto pour bébé. (2020). Moodle@Polytechnique Montreal. https://moodle.polymtl.ca/
Note: There is no author mentioned for this document.
⦁ If the audience cannot retrieve them (they have no access to the Moodle site of the course), cite them only in the text as personal communication and do not include a reference in the reference list.
In-text citation:
…C.-É. Aubin (personal communication, April 15, 2020)… or
…(C.-É. Aubin, personal communication, April 15, 2020)…
⦁ The retrieval date is not required for web pages, except for pages that may change over time, such as wikis (see Entry in an encyclopedia (including Wikipedia) for Wikipedia).
⦁ "When citing webpages and websites . . . ensure that the copyright date applies to the content you are citing. Do not use a copyright date from a webpage or website footer because this date may not indicate when the content on the site was published. If a note indicates the "last updated" date of the page, use that date if it applies to the content you are citing. . . . If no separate date of publication is indicated for the work on the webpage, treat the work as having no date." (APA 7th, 2020, p. 289).
⦁ "When the author name and the site name are the same, omit the site name" (APA 7th, 2020, p. 350).
Organization. (Year, Date). Title of web page. Website name. https://xxxxx
Ministère du Développement durable, Environnement et Lutte contre les changements climatiques. (n.d.). Les gaz à effet de serre. http://www.mddelcc.gouv.qc.ca/air/questce-ges.htm
(Here, the copyright date at the bottom of the page is not the actual publication date of the web page, so we used n.d.)
Author. (Year, Date). Title of web page. Website name. https://xxxxx
Thompson, L. (2020, June 29). The state of coral reefs in the Solomon Islands. Khaled bin Sultan Living Oceans Foundation. https://www.livingoceansfoundation.org/the-state-of-coral-reefs-in-the-solomon-islands/
If you cite an entire website or web page (Ex.: blog, Facebook or Twitter) and not a specific document on that website or web page, mention them only in the text and do not create an entry in the reference list. For instance, an entire website is http://www.oiq.qc.ca and a web page on this website is any page whose URL starts with http://www.oiq.qc.ca/...
Ex.: The Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec (http://oiq.qc.ca) is a professional organization… or Bill Gates has a Facebook profile (https://www.facebook.com/BillGates) and a Twitter account (https://twitter.com/BillGates)…
Author, A. A. (Publication or last update date). Title of blog post. Blog name. https://xxxxx
Rouhi, S. (2019, December 4). “To preprint or not to preprint?” What’s the opportunity cost of early, non-peer-reviewed publicly available research? The Official PLOS Blog. https://theplosblog.plos.org/2019/12/to-preprint-or-not-to-preprint-whats-the-opportunity-cost-of-early-non-peer-reviewed-publicly-available-research/
Author of the comment, A. A. (Publication date). Title of blog comment or up to the first 20 words of the comment [Comment on the blog post "..."]. Blog name. https://xxxxx
In a tweet or in the first 20 words or less of the post:
⦁ "Do not alter the spelling and capitalization in a social media reference.
⦁ Retain hashtags and links.
⦁ Replicate emojis.... count an emoji as one word" (APA 7th, 2020, p. 348).
⚊⚊> Facebook page, YouTube, Instagram, Tumblr, LinkedIn page
⦁ "This format can be used or adapted for references to other platform or profile pages, including YouTube, Instagram, Tumblr, LinkedIn, and so forth" (APA 7th, 2020, p. 350).
Author, A. A. (Date). Title [Facebook page]. Facebook. https://xxxxx
Poly Games. (n.d.). About [Facebook page]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/polymtlgames/about/?ref=page_internal
Author, A. A. (Publication or last update date). Title or the first 20 words or less of the post [Facebook post]. Facebook. https://xxxxx
News from Science. (2020, June 20). Remote wilderness areas and national parks in the western United States are getting a dusting of plastic every year [Facebook post]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/ScienceNOW/posts/10157243217645108
Author, A. A. [@username] (Publication or last update date). Title or the first 20 words or less of the post [Tweet]. X. https://xxxxx
MIT Technology Review [@techreview]. (2020, June 24). "This is why we keep seeing race science emerging time and again," writes a research scientist at MIT [Tweet]. X. https://twitter.com/techreview/status/1275705954479353857?s=20
Software, mobile app, apparatus, equipment
"Common software and mobile apps mentioned in text but not paraphrased or quoted, do not need citations, nor do programming languages." (APA 7th, 2020, p. 338). Ex.: Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Photoshop, Instagram, Java, etc.
"However, include reference list entries and in-text citations if you have paraphrased or quoted from any software or app [...] or when mentioning software, apps, and apparatuses or equipment of limited distribution—meaning your audience is unlikely to be familiar with them." (APA 7th, 2020, p. 339).
⦁ When the author and the publisher are the same company, mention the name of the company only once, as the author.
Author, A. A. (Year). Name of software (Version Number of version) [Computer software]. Publisher. https://xxxxx
Druide. (2020). Antidote (Version 10) [Computer software]. https://www.antidote.info/en/
Author, A. A. (Year). Name of app (Version xx) [Mobile app]. App Store or Google Play Store. https://xxxxx
Simple Design. (2020). Pedometer - Step counter free & calorie burner [Mobile app]. Google Play Store. https://tinyurl.com/yattsgmq
⦁ The director is the author of a film. If this information is not available, mention the producer or the writer.
⦁ Include the format for a film (ex.: DVD, Blu-Ray, streaming online, etc.) only "when you need to specify the version used" (APA 7th, 2020, p. 343).
Note: APA7th_PolyMTL style for EndNote cannot add (Director) in a film reference.
Director, B. B. (Director). (Year). Title [Film; Format]. Publisher.
Couture, P. (Director). (2008). Mort aux pesticides [Film]. CinéFête.
⚊⚊> Streaming video (ex.: YouTube)
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title [Video]. Source. https://xxxxx
Guttag, J. (2011). MIT 6.00SC: Introduction to computer science and programming: Core elements of a program [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SLvTCHhu5SE
Prévost, M. (2013, August 18). Protection de l'eau potable [Interview]. Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. http://www.radio-canada.ca/audio-video/pop.shtml#urlMedia=http://www.radio-canada.ca/Medianet/2013/CBF/LesAnneeslumiere201308181212_1.asx
⦁ The description of material could be: data set, data file, code book, user manual, etc.
⦁ For 21 or more authors, mention the first 19 authors . . . and the last one. The APA7th_PolyMTL style for EndNote only mentions the first 6 authors . . . and the last one.
Author, A. A. (Year). Title (Version Number of version) [Description of material]. Source. https://doi.org/xxxxx
Hinton, T. J., Jallerat, Q., Palchesko, R. N., Park, J. H., Grodzicki, M. S., Shue, H., Ramadan, M. H., Hudson, A. R., & Feinberg, A. W. (2016). Three-dimensional printing of complex biological structures by freeform reversible embedding of suspended hydrogels [Data set]. Dryad. https://doi.org/10.5061/dryad.tp4cp
Author, A. A. (Year). Title (Version Number of version) [Description of material]. Source. https://xxxxx
⦁ "When the source of unpublished raw data is known (e.g., a university or a university department), include it at the end of the reference." (APA 7th, 2020, p. 338).
⦁ Ex. of a description: [Unpublished raw data on the correlation between...]. In this case, do not include [Unpublished raw data] after the description.
⦁ Ex. of Years of collection: (2019-2020).
Author, A. A. (Year(s) of collection). Title [Unpublished raw data]. Source.
Author, A. A. (Year(s) of collection). [Description]. Source.
The APA style shows only how to cite U.S. laws and legislation, so even if you use EndNote, you will need to create these references manually.
In Canada, the two most used styles for citing legislation are those outlined in the Lluelles Guide (used at the UdeM) and in the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation, 8th Edition, also called the McGill Guide.
The University of Ottawa offers a guide in English based on the McGill guide. See this guide for examples of legal citations (provincial and federal laws and regulations, bills, etc.).
Example of an in-text citation :
… according to the Sustainable Development Act, s 6(d) (2006)… or ... (Sustainable Development Act, s 6(d), 2006)...
More information here.
Sustainable Development Act, RLRQ c D-8.1.1.
Sustainable Development Act, RLRQ c D-8.1.1, s 6(a).
Règlement sur les ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées, RLRQ Q-2, r. 34.1.
⚊⚊> Article in a Quebec regulation
Règlement sur les ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées, RLRQ Q-2, r. 34.1, art 8.
Federal Sustainable Development Act, LC 2008, c 33.
Federal Sustainable Development Act, LC 2008, c 33, s 7(1).
- Last Updated: Feb 12, 2024 1:32 PM
- URL: https://libguides.biblio.polymtl.ca/apa7th
- Print Page
Scan me with your favorite QR code app
