Resources by Document Type - Dissertations and Theses

All Polytechnique Montréal master's theses and PhD dissertations, in print or electronic format, can be found in Sofia, the Library discovery tool.

Most master's theses and PhD dissertations published since 1999 are available in electronic format in Polytechnique Montréal's institutional repository, PolyPublie.

Polytechnique Montréal Theses and Dissertations by Department

Using a template is mandatory! Read it carefully before you start writing!
A template is a style sheet that greatly facilitates your work and ensures that Polytechnique publication requirements are followed.

Note: If you are writing a dissertation or a thesis by articles in French, which includes articles in English, use the templates in French.

• MS-Word Template in English (last updated February 13, 2023**)
• MS-Word Template in French (last updated February 13, 2023**)
**When the documents based on the previous January 20, 2023 templates were saved as PDFs, the Table of Contents was not complete.
      ▸ Comment télécharger et appliquer une feuille de style / How to Download and Apply a Template (français + English)

• Bilingual LaTeX Template (last updated August 18, 2023)
      ▸ If you started writing your thesis or dissertation using the 2019 or 2022 versions of the LaTeX template, copy your text into the latest template.

      ▸ The document to compile in the template is Document.tex!

In Overleaf, make Document.tex the Main document under Menu, if it is not already this way:

Are you about to start writing your thesis or dissertation?

Consult the Graduate Studies' Thesis and Dissertation page and these guides:

NOTE: The guide in French is up to date, whereas the guide in English will be updated soon. Presently, the examples of title pages in the guide in English are outdated. See the "Mandatory Title Pages" box in this guide for up-to-date title pages.

Find dissertations & theses @ Polytechnique Montréal

Advanced Search

• Page titre mémoire de maîtrise / Title Page Master's Thesis (Word)
• Page titre thèse de doctorat / Title Page PhD Dissertation (Word)
• Page titre thèse de doctorat / Title Page PhD Dissertation (LaTeX)
• Page titre thèse de doctorat en cotutelle / Title Page Joint PhD Dissertation

Attention! The Graduate Studies has decided not to include the abbreviations M. (Mr.) and Mme (Ms.) or titles such as PhD in the title pages. This is not an error.

Did you know that the library collection also includes recent print editions of books? You can access our entire print and electronic book collection from Sofia, our discovery tool.

Find the following word(s):

Advanced search

Polytechnique's Directory of Scientific and Technical Publications is a searchable database which contains the majority of Polytechnique Montréal's professors' and researchers' publications.

For any questions, please contact biblio.profs@polymtl.ca.