Skip to Main Content

Environmental Engineering - General > Environmental Impact Assessment

This guide offers you quick and easy access to electronic and print resources in the field of environmental engineering.

Importante Notes

Important Notes

  • Environmental impact assessment related to a project or an activity is often described according to a different terminology depending if we are in Quebec or in Canada. In Quebec, an environmental assessment required by the Environment Quality Act (articles 31.1 to 31.9) is usually presented as an environmental impact assessment study. In Canada, the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (2012) refers to what is typically called an environmental assessment, in which environmental "effects" are evaluated instead of "impacts".
  • Procedures and instructions related to environmental impact assessment studies can change substantially according to the specific legislation of a country or a region. So, when consulting information resources from outside of Canada, it is important to check if they apply to the Canadian or provincial context.

Electronic Format

Print Format

Handbooks

What is a handbook?

handbook or aide-mémoire provides basic information about a certain subject or topic. It usually contains numerical tables or other calculations which are essential information for engineers in any field.

It also provides professional guidelines and recommendations, such as the best pratices in a certain field of engineering.

> Taylor & Francis eBooks is a collection of electronic reference works, which includes hundreds of handbooks pertaining to all fields of engineering.

Off-Campus Access to Documents

If you are a member of the Polytechnique Montréal community, you can access all of the Library’s electronic subscription resources from off-campus by configuring our proxy server in your browser. Direct access to some of our resources (without configuring the proxy) is also available through the links marked by an arrow Green arrow in our list of all databases.