Derwent is the most important patent database in the world. It contains abstracts, title explanations and citations, which is an added value to users. Also contains the equivalent patents issued by each country.
Subject(s) : All Fields of Engineering
Full-Text : Partial Contents
Coverage Period : 1963-
Contains bibliographic references for patents organized by 3 basic categories: Chemistry, Mechanics, Electricity & Electronics. It is the most important database of international patents. The database also contains summaries, assignees, assignors and citations. It includes the equivalent patent numbers assigned by different countries.
Database updated weekly.
To consult a detailed list of the suffixes (kind codes) used & their meaning after a patent number used to describe its status, check Country Coverage and Kind Codes
Subject(s) : Biomedical Engineering - Chemical Engineering - Environmental Engineering - Engineering Physics - Materials Engineering - Medicine & Biology
Coverage Period : Chemical abstracts : 1907- ; Medline : 1958- ; Registry : 1957- ; CASEACT : 1974-
Access Procedure : Individual registration is required to access the resource. If you are already registered, you can access the new CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform with your current username and password. You can easily register a new account while on campus at Polytechnique. To register from off campus, you need to configure the library proxy first, then use this link to create a new user accountwith your Polytechique email address.
Produced by the American Chemical Society, it is the largest bibliographic database in chemistry. Also covers many areas of engineering and medicine as it includes references from Medline produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes abstracts of articles, conferences, theses, book chapters and patents.
CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform includes :
SciFinder-n : A new version of SciFinder that offers several possibilities for investigating chemical substances and their reactions, including procedures and protocols. It provides the possibility to draw a molecule with an interactive tool, to search for biosequences or to obtain citations or patents related to a chemical substance. Quick guide, tutorials.
Analytical Methods : Used to find, compare and better understand analytical methods from scientific publications (articles, patents, etc.).
SciFinder is reserved for members of the Polytechnique community, for academic research or research subsidized by government agencies, or for non-profit purposes.
NEED MORE INFORMATIONS?
If you require additional information about resources for patents, please consult the Library's guide on patents.
OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS TO DOCUMENTS
If you are a member of the Polytechnique Montréal community, you can access all of the Library’s electronic subscription resources from off-campus by configuring our proxy server in your browser. Direct access to some of our resources (without configuring the proxy) is also available through the links marked by an arrow in our list of all databases.