Respecting Copyright

The databases and the electronic books and journals collections are offered to Polytechnique Montréal professors, students, and staff under the terms of agreements signed with the vendors of these resources.

Users must comply with the Copyright Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. C-42) and the rules set out in the agreements signed by the Library. Please consult, as an example, the Model License of the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN), through which we get some of our resources. A list of publishers with whom CRKN has agreements can be found on their website.

Non-compliance with the Copyright Act or licensing agreements may result in the loss of use privileges for the offending users.

In certain circumstances, misuse may result in temporary or permanent termination of access for all Polytechnique Montréal users.

Here is a general overview of permitted and prohibited uses of electronic resources:

Prohibited uses

In all cases, it is strictly forbidden to:

• Grant access to resources paid for by the Library to users who are not professors, students or employees of Polytechnique Montréal;
• Modify the content of databases, journals, and electronic books;
• Delete or alter copyright notices attached to the content;
• Use the contents of the databases, journals, and e-books for commercial purposes.

It is generally prohibited to:

• Substantially or systematically reproduce or download the contents of databases, journals, and e-books (e.g., downloading entire issues of an electronic journal is prohibited);
• Create derivative products such as local databases with downloaded documents;
• Redistribute the contents of databases, journals and e-books to anyone other than authorized users (professors, students or employees of Polytechnique Montréal).
• Transfer the content of databases, journals and e-books to anyone other than authorized users (professors, students or employees of Polytechnique Montréal).

Permitted uses

It is generally permitted to:

• Print and photocopy a reasonable number of copies of individual articles and brief excerpts from books for individual use for study or research purposes;
• Download and save to local support (hard disk, etc.) a reasonable number of bibliographic references, individual articles, and brief excerpts from books for individual use for study or research purposes;
• Use the DOI or hyperlink to the content excerpts of databases, journals, or e-books on your Moodle site for easy access by students.

For information on the permitted or prohibited use of a specific electronic resource, please contact Christine Chahal.

Consult this Service de la reprographie page (in French only) to learn how to reproduce copyrighted works (text or images) in your lecture notes.

Any reproduction of a copyrighted work must be authorized by the copyright owner and is subject to the Copyright Act and an agreement between Polytechnique Montréal and the Société québécoise de la gestion collective des droits de reproduction (COPIBEC).

For more information, consult Reproduction rights licence for Quebec universities (COPIBEC).