Resources by Document Type - Linguistic Tools

Terminological dictionary

Access definitions, synonyms and translations of several technical and common terms from the following dictionaries:

Grand dictionnaire terminologique (part of Vitrine linguistique)
Language : French, English and a few translations in Spanish and Portuguese.
more...less...
Bank of terminology records that provides a specialized vocabulary in a wide range of fields. The terms are available in different languages. This tool is written by « l’Office québécois de la langue française » and is constantly updated by their terminologist team.
Termium Plus
Language(s) : French, English
more...less...
Terminology and linguistic data bank of the Government of Canada that contains translations and definitions of millions of technical terms. A great tool to help you build your search strategies.

Dictionnaire et encyclopédie Larousse
Language(s) : French with English, Arabic, German, Spanish, Italian and Chinese translations.
more...less...
Contains definitions and general information on multiple subjects. A verb conjugator is also available on this site.
Le Robert Dico en ligne
French language dictionary
Merriam-Webster
Language : English
Coverage : 1828 -
more...less...
Provides informations on origins, definitions, use and spelling of words. You will also find games to boost your knowledge. This tool is a branch of the Encyclopedia Britannica since 1964.
Bescherelle Conjugaison
Language : French
more...less...
Essential tool to help you with the conjugation of verbs in French and English.
Reverso Conjugator
Language : French, English, Spanish, German, Italian, Hebrew, Portuguese, Russian, Arabic and Japanese
more...less...
Essential tool for the conjugation of verbs.
Grammarly
Free online grammar checker and spell checker.