Biomedical Engineering

Recommended Resources

Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject(s) : All Fields of Engineering
Full-Text : No
Coverage Period : 1884-
Database size: Over 27 millions references
Update: Weekly
Tutorial
Contains bibliographic references for journal articles from thousands journal titles and conferences proceedings in science & engineering.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject(s) : Aerospace Engineering - Biomedical Engineering - Computer Engineering - Electrical Engineering - Engineering Physics - Industrial Engineering - Mechanical Engineering
Full-Text : No
Coverage Period : 1896-
Database size: 16,500,000+ references
Update : Weekly
Contains bibliographic references for articles & papers from journal titles (including some of them in open access), conferences, as well as books, technical reports & dissertations in the fields of computers, robotics, physics, electrical engineering & electronic engineering.
PubMed / Medline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject(s) : Biotechnology - Biomedical Engineering - Medicine & Biology
Full-Textl : Partial Contents
Coverage Period : 1946-
Database size: 35,000,000+ references
Update : Daily
Contains bibliographic references for international journals covering the fields of biomedical engineering & health sciences. Database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject(s) : Biomedical Engineering - Chemical Engineering - Environmental Engineering - Engineering Physics - Materials Engineering - Medicine & Biology
Full-Text: No
Coverage Period : Chemical abstracts : 1907- ; Medline : 1958- ; Registry : 1957- ; CASEACT : 1974-

Access Procedure : Individual registration is required to access the resource. If you are already registered, you can access the new CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform with your current username and password. You can easily register a new account while on campus at Polytechnique. To register from off campus, you need to configure the library proxy first, then use this link to create a new user account with your Polytechique email address.
Produced by the American Chemical Society, it is the largest bibliographic database in chemistry. Also covers many areas of engineering and medicine as it includes references from Medline produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes abstracts of articles, conferences, theses, book chapters and patents.

CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform includes :

SciFinder-n : A new version of SciFinder that offers several possibilities for investigating chemical substances and their reactions, including procedures and protocols. It provides the possibility to draw a molecule with an interactive tool, to search for biosequences or to obtain citations or patents related to a chemical substance. Quick guide , tutorials.

Analytical Methods : Used to find, compare and better understand analytical methods from scientific publications (articles, patents, etc.).

Formulus : Tool that facilitates the research and development of chemical compounds. Quick Guide. Quick guide.

SciFinder is reserved for members of the Polytechnique community, for academic research or research subsidized by government agencies, or for non-profit purposes.

To optimize the experience of this interface, the provider recommends that you allow *.cas.org popups and cookies, and enable JavaScript in your browser settings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject(s) : All Fields of Engineering
Full-Text : No
Coverage Period : 1900-
Database size : More than 82 millions references.
Update : Weekly
Contains bibliographic references for journal articles & author citations from Life sciences, biomedical sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts & humanities. Strongest coverage of natural sciences, health sciences, engineering, computer science, materials sciences.
Database permits searches, which allow you to find who has cited a certain publication & find the number of publications citing a specific bibliographic reference.
View the list of indexed journals.
.

Complementary Resources

USDA National Agricultural Library This link opens in a new window
Subject(s) : Biomedical Engineering - Chemical Engineering - Environmental Engineering - Earth Sciences
Full-Text : Partial Contents
Coverage Period : 1970-
Contains over eight million bibliographic references covering the fields of agriculture and related disciplines (including nutrition). This resource includes the Agricola database.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Off-Campus access to this database
Subject(s) : Aerospace Engineering - Biomedical Engineering - Computer Engineering - Electrical Engineering - Engineering Physics - Industrial Engineering - Mechanical Engineering
Full-Text : Yes
Coverage Period : 1988-
Database size: 4,000,000+ references
Database offering access to the full-text of journal articles & conference papers published by the IEEE & IEE since 1988. Some journal titles date back to 1893. It also contains the full-text of all current IEEE technical standards. View the list of indexed journals.
INIS Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject(s) : Biomedical Engineering - Nuclear Engineering - Power Engineering
Full-Text : Partial Contents
Coverage Period : 1970-
Update : Weekly
INIS Collection (International Nuclear Information System) covers all areas of IAEA’s activities, including nuclear engineering and technology, nuclear safety and radiation protection, safeguards and non-proliferation, applications of nuclear and isotope techniques, nuclear and high energy physics, nuclear and radiation chemistry, nuclear applications in life sciences, legal aspects, and environmental and economic aspects of nuclear and non-nuclear energy sources.
It contains numerous references for technical reports unavailable elsewhere. INIS database is the result of a collaboration with over 130 countries, coordinated by the International Atomic Energy Agency. Open access available.
List of indexed journals.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Off-Campus access to this database
Subject(s) : All Fields of Engineering
Full-Text : Yes
Coverage Period : 1920-
Update : Continuously
Contains the full-text of over 3,800 electronic journal titles published by Elsevier Science. View the list of indexed journals.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Off-Campus access to this database
Subject(s) : All Fields of Engineering
Full-Text : Partial Contents
Coverage Period : 1830-
Update : Monthly
Platform produced by Springer, which offers the full-text of peer-review journal titles & e-books. Users can also search by document type, broad topic & collection.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Off-Campus access to this database
1. Click on the "Wiley Online Library" URL above, then click on "Login / Register" located in the top right corner.
2. Click on the "INSTITUTIONAL LOGIN >" link in the bottom right corner.
3. Under "Search for your institution", search "Polytechnique Montréal".
4. Enter your Polytechnique identifier and password.
Subject(s) : All Fields of Engineering
Full-Text : Partial Contents
Coverage Period : 1997-
Contains the full text of electronic references published by Wiley.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Subject(s) : All Fields of Engineering
Full Text : No
Coverage Period : 1000 B.C. to Present Time
Update : Daily
Contains billions bibliographic references for various document types such as dissertations & technical reports not inventoried elsewhere. This database is a regroupment of numerous library catalogues located in North America, Europe & Asia.

PubMed Tutorial

Guide sur la recherche dans PubMed par l'Université de Montréal
Guide in French with search tips for obtaining more precise result lists with less effort. The PubMed video tutorial on the guide's homepage is recommended.

The PubMed database is an invaluable resource for finding journal articles and conference papers in the fields of health and medicine. PubMed contains also literature reviews and clinical trial results.

Off-Campus Access to Documents

If you are a member of the Polytechnique Montréal community, you can access all of the Library’s electronic subscription resources from off-campus by configuring our proxy server in your browser. Direct access to some of our resources (without configuring the proxy) is also available through the links marked by an arrow in our list of all databases.

Find journals - BrowZine

Find in one place several scientific journals to which the Polytechnique Library subscribes.

BrowZine allows you to select your favourite journals and consult new issues. If you install the app on your mobile device, you will be notified when new articles are published.

Configure the Library proxy in order to use BrowZine off campus.

FInd an article by DOI

Popular journals with Polytechnique researchers

The Journals by Department guide showcases lists of scientific journals in which Polytechnique Montréal professors and researchers have published the most in the last 5 years, organized by department.

Formulaire de recherche