Medicine and Biology
Definition - Evidence-based medicine
"An approach of practicing medicine with the goal to improve and evaluate patient care. It requires the judicious integration of best research evidence with the patient's values to make decisions about medical care. This method is to help physicians make proper diagnosis, devise best testing plan, choose best treatment and methods of disease prevention, as well as develop guidelines for large groups of patients with the same disease. (from JAMA 296 (9), 2006)" (Source: MeSH)
Evidence-based practice guide
- Guide - Evidence-based practice (French)From Université de Montréal Libraries.
Databases
- Trip DatabaseSearch engine which permits users to find clinical medical information based on quality research studies.
- Cochrane LibraryDatabase of high quality systematic reviews in medicine. Even though the full text of articles is not always available, the results and conclusions in the abstracts can be very useful. This database also contains an extensive set of randomized controlled trials. For more information on Cochrane reviews and the method used to conduct them, see the handbook below.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions - ISBN: 9781119536611Publication Date: 2021This version is free, available online and the most up-to-date.
- CPG Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines"The CPG Infobase is a database of evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines (CPGs). Maintained by Joule™, a CMA company, it includes approximately 1,200 CPGs developed or endorsed by authoritative medical or health organizations in Canada."
