Subject(s) : Biomedical Engineering - Chemical Engineering - Environmental Engineering - Engineering Physics - Materials Engineering - Medicine & Biology
Coverage Period : Chemical abstracts : 1907- ; Medline : 1958- ; Registry : 1957- ; CASEACT : 1974-
Access Procedure : Individual registration is required to access the resource. If you are already registered, you can access the new CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform with your current username and password. You can easily register a new account while on campus at Polytechnique. To register from off campus, you need to configure the library proxy first, then use this link to create a new user accountwith your Polytechique email address.
Produced by the American Chemical Society, it is the largest bibliographic database in chemistry. Also covers many areas of engineering and medicine as it includes references from Medline produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes abstracts of articles, conferences, theses, book chapters and patents.
CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform includes :
SciFinder-n : A new version of SciFinder that offers several possibilities for investigating chemical substances and their reactions, including procedures and protocols. It provides the possibility to draw a molecule with an interactive tool, to search for biosequences or to obtain citations or patents related to a chemical substance. Quick guide, tutorials.
Analytical Methods : Used to find, compare and better understand analytical methods from scientific publications (articles, patents, etc.).
Subject(s) : All Fields of Engineering
Full-Text : No
Coverage Period : 1900-
Database size : More than 82 millions references.
Update : Weekly
Contains bibliographic references for journal articles & author citations from Life sciences, biomedical sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts & humanities. Strongest coverage of natural sciences, health sciences, engineering, computer science, materials sciences.
Database permits searches, which allow you to find who has cited a certain publication & find the number of publications citing a specific bibliographic reference.
View the list of indexed journals.
Contains over 3 million bibliographic references, including 1.5 million journal articles, of which one million are available in full-text. It also contains bibliographic references for conferences, books & certain data, and technical reports published by the US Dept. of Energy (DOE).
Subject(s) : All Fields of Engineering
Full Text : No
Coverage Period : 1000 B.C. to Present Time
Update : Daily
Contains billions bibliographic references for various document types such as dissertations & technical reports not inventoried elsewhere. This database is a regroupment of numerous library catalogues located in North America, Europe & Asia.
The PubMed database is an invaluable resource for finding journal articles and conference papers in the fields of health and medicine. PubMed contains also literature reviews and clinical trial results.
Guide in French with search tips for obtaining more precise result lists with less effort. The PubMed video tutorial on the guide's homepage is recommended.
Off-Campus Access to Documents
If you are a member of the Polytechnique Montréal community, you can access all of the Library’s electronic subscription resources from off-campus by configuring our proxy server in your browser. Direct access to some of our resources (without configuring the proxy) is also available through the links marked by an arrow in our list of all databases.
Find journals - BrowZine
Find in one place several scientific journals to which the Polytechnique Library subscribes.
BrowZine allows you to select your favourite journals and consult new issues. If you install the app on your mobile device, you will be notified when new articles are published.