Guides (English): IEEE Citation Guide: Examples of References

Reference List or Bibliography according the the IEEE Style

The reference list is placed at the end of the document and the references are listed in order of citation in the text.

Mention all authors for documents with one, two or three authors;
For four or more authors, use "First Author et al." In the reference list;
Even though the document has a DOI, include only the URL in the reference.

Examples of IEEE References in the Reference List ot Bibliography

These examples follow the format of references according to the IEEEtran style for LaTeX and not the IEEE Editorial Style Manual (these two do not match and IEEEtran is more consistent). They are also consistent with the references created by using the Bilingual LaTeX Template for Dissertations and Theses @ Polytechnique.

Book, handbook, book or handbook chapter, entry in an encyclopedia

Capitalize the first word in titles and subtitles.
- Ex.: Analog and VLSI Circuits: The Circuits and Filters Handbook
Capitalize the important words in the titles of books, except for short conjunctions, articles, and prepositions.
- Ex.: Capitalize "Towards", which is a long preposition, and do not capitalize "in" and "of", which are short prepositions.
- Ex.: Plastics Materials
Do not capitalize the important words in the chapter titles, except for proper nouns.
- Ex.: Programmable microscopy
The titles of books and chapters in French maintain the French orthography.
- Ex.: Équations différentielles
An editor is a person who prepares the contents of a document to be published. Usually, the document is a collection of texts by various authors and the editor could also be one of the authors.

For electronic books and chapters, add at the end of the reference: [Online]. Available: URL

⚊⚊> Book, print version

⚊⚊> Edited book in print version

⚊⚊> Electronic book

⚊⚊> Edited electronic book

⚊⚊> Section without title of an electronic book

⚊⚊> Chapter in an edited electronic book

⚊⚊> Entry in an edited electronic encyclopedia

⚊⚊> Entry in Wikipedia with last edited date

Journal article

Capitalize the first word and all the proper nouns in the the titles and subtitles of articles. Do not capitalize other important words.
- Ex.: New two-port scattering matrix measurement technique using a sliding load
Consult the IEEE Journal Titles and Reference Abbreviations.

Note: IEEE requires abbreviated journal titles in the references, but there are no IEEE abbreviations for journals published by other publishers. Thus, we recommend that you use the full titles rather than the abbreviated ones for all journals from all publishers, including IEEE, for your academic assignments, dissertations and theses.

⚊⚊> Published, print version

⚊⚊> Published, electronic version

⚊⚊> Accepted for publication