Resources by Document Type - Technical Standards

Full-text Standards

ARINC (SAE Industry Technologies Consortia) This link opens in a new window
The three classes of ARINC Standards: Characteristics, specifications, and Reports pertaining to avionics equipment, avionics systems, and avionics and flight simulator engineering and maintenance best practices as developed by industry consensus through the AEEC, AMC, and FSEMC.
ASHRAE Standards & Guidelines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete collection of ASHRAE active Standards and Guidelines.
ASTM Compass (American Society for Testing and Materials) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Off-Campus access to this database
All full text ASTM standards are contained in the Book of Standards. Also covers the Geotechnical Testing Journal (GTJ) and the Journal of Testing and Evaluation (JOTE), accessible via the Digital Library.
CSA OnDemand This link opens in a new window
This resource includes all standards developed by the Canadian Standards Association (CSA), in English and in French, including older versions of standards, and related documents such as codes, manuals and commentaries. The subscription also includes standards adopted without change from many organizations such as ISO, IEC, and others.
Notes :
- Access to PDF may be problematic depending on your Adobe application configuration. You can use the online version, or consult the Explanatory Guide.
- Creating a personal account (free) is optional, but allows you to annotate online versions of documents, to create a "favorites" list or to make purchase requests ("wishlist").

IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Electronics – Aerospace Engineering – Biomedical Engineering – Electrical Engineering – Industrial Engineering – Computer Engineering – Mechanical Engineering – Engineering Physics - Telecommunications
more...less...
IEEE Xplore provides access to the full text of journals and conference proceedings published by IEEE and IEE since 1988. Some titles date back to 1893. IEEE Xplore also provides the text of all IEEE’s active standards. Size: more than two million references.

International Telecommunication Union (ITU) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 4000 ITU-T Recommendations, which constitute voluntary standards widely used in IT and telecommunications around the world.
Ouvrages routiers - Ministère des Transports et de la Mobilité durable This link opens in a new window
Standards of the Ministère des Transports et de la Mobilité durable du Québec, published by Les Publications du Québec. Includes the "Standards - Road Works" collection, the current and previous "Cahiers des charges et devis généraux (CCDG)", as well as the guides and manuals "Assurance de la qualité", "Chaussées", "Conception et construction", "Électrotechnique", "Gestion de projets", "Ouvrages d’art", "Structures de signalisation ou d’éclairage" and " Zone côtière".
RTCA (Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics) This link opens in a new window
Over 350 documents representing a wide range of aviation standards. The documents are available in digital version.

Websites to find standards

ISO (International Organization for Standardization / Organisation internationale de normalisation)
more...less...
"The world’s largest developer of voluntary International Standards."
Comprises "more than 19500 International Standards covering almost all aspects of technology and business".
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC / CEI)
Subject(s): Electronics – Biomedical Engineering – Electrical Engineering – Energy Engineering
ANSI (American National Standard Institute)
Subject(s): All fields of engineering
more...less...
An organization that approves U.S. standards. Includes standards from various subject areas, developed by U.S. and international organizations. Related to the NSSN (National Standards Systems Network).
SAE International
Subject(s): Aerospace Engineering – Mechanical Engineering
more...less...
Standards for aerospace and automotive engineering and also for commercial and ground vehicles.
NISO (National Information Standards Organization)
more...less...
Not-for profit organization accredited by ANSI.
DoD Index of Specifications and Standards (U.S. Dept. of Defense)
Subject(s): All fields of engineering
more...less...
ASSIST is the official source of standards used by the U.S. Department of Defense. Dates back to 1986. Access to full text U.S. military standards. Also includes non-governmental standards adopted for use by the Department.
SES - The Society for Standards Professionals
Subject(s): All fields of engineering
more...less...
Offers a list of U.S., European, and international sites and an index by country.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Subject(s): All fields of engineering
European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI)
Association for Smarter Homes & Buildings (ASHB)

Tutorial

For more information:

Standards in our world (ISO).

Formulaire de recherche