⦁ EndNote is installed with over 300 filters, which can be found under C:\Program Files\Endnote 21\Filters\. If necessary, see other filters provided by EndNote.
⦁ All filters downloaded and opened with EndNote will be saved on your computer under:
C:\Users\<UserName>\Documents\EndNote\Filters for Windows; /Users/<UserName>/Documents/EndNote/Filters for macOS.
See this path in EndNote ➞ Edit ➞ Preferences... ➞ Folder Locations.
The filters found here have priority over the filters automatically installed with EndNote.
⦁ For most databases, use the direct import = double-click the .ris file downloaded from the database to open it in EndNote.
⦁ The Library has adapted the import filters for a few databases for which direct import did not work well. These filters have been developed only for the main document types (e.g. journal article, conference proceedings) in each database..
⦁ PolyMTL import filters (last updated August 20, 2023):
Attention! Import journal articles and conference papers from databases and not from Sofia!
Follow this procedure to properly import records from the Sofia discovery tool.
Open the EndNote library in which you would like to import references.
Perform your search and click Save for each reference to export.
In the upper right corner, click on Saved Items and check if all references to be exported are selected.
Click Cite ➞ Export to EndNote ➞ Open with EndNote.
Correct the references imported in EndNote! See the examples under Styles & Examples ➞Examples of information in EndNote for several types of documents, according to the APA 7th style ➞ Book, handbook, dictionary, encyclopedia and Book or handbook chapter to see the required information in the EndNote fields.
Examples of corrections to be made:
Keep only the publisher in the Publisher field (e.g., remove statements such as "Distributed by O'Reilly Media in the United States and Canada").
Delete the contents of the Version and ISBN fields.
Add the DOI in the DOI field for e-books. Ex.: 10.1016/B978-0-7506-7808-7.X5000-7
Eliminate "ed." in Edition and leave only the number if your reference lists will be in French. For example, if there is "3rd ed." in the Edition field, leave 3 for French or 3rd for English.
The books will be imported with several URLs in the URL field. Delete all these links. Click on View eBook in Sofia to get to the e-library with the full text of the e-book and copy-paste that URL into the URL field.
Import from databases
For importing references from several bibliographic databases available at the Library, follow these procedures, tested in Mozilla Firefox.
After each import, we strongly recommend that you check the quality of the imported references and make corrections. If you import them from several databases, make sure you eliminate duplicates.
If you would like to keep track from which database the references were imported: Select the imported references. Continue with Tools ➞ Change/Move/Copy Fields... In the Change Fields tab, choose Name of Database from the drop-down list of fields, and then replace the whole field with the name of the database.
Indirect Import with the EIVillage_Compendex-Inspec PolyMTL filter
Perform your search and select the references to be imported.
Click on the arrow , then choose Location: My PC, Format: EndNote (RIS, Ref. Manager), and click on Download record(s).
In EndNote, choose File ➞ Import ➞ File... and retrieve the .ris file.
At Import Option, select the filter EIVillage_Compendex-Inspec PolyMTL, Import all from the Duplicates list, No Translation from the Text Translation list, and then click Import.
Your references will appear in the Imported References group and also under All References.
Conference papers are imported as Conference Proceedings and should be transformed into Conference Papers.
Complete in the Type field: Paper presentation, Keynote address, Conference session, Poster session, Symposium contribution, etc. for APA in English; Communication de conférence, Présentation par affiche, Contribution au symposium, etc. for APA in French; communication présentée à for IEEE in French; paper presented at for IEEE in English.
Correct the Conference Location if the field contains the place of publication of the conference instead of the city where the conference took place (e.g., "Piscataway, NJ, USA" is the place of publication of IEEE conferences). Retain in Conference Location only the city and the province or the state (for Canada and the US) or the city and the country for other countries (e.g., the P.O. Box and the street are not necessary).
Discard "Proceedings of" from the Conference Name.
Complete Year of Conference, Conference Name and Conference Location by using the information imported in the field Notes or by consulting the Detailed format of the reference in Compendex/Inspec and the PDF of the document.
Compendex and Inspec have common references, so if you import from the two databases simultaneously, make sure you eliminate duplicates.
Open the EndNote library in which you want to import references.
Execute your search and select the references to import.
Click Export ➞ EndNote desktop ➞ Record Content: Full Record ➞ Export to create the .ris file.
Double-click the .ris file and the references are sent directly into the EndNote library. The international classification codes will be transferred in the Keywords field.
Check the data transferred by comparing it with the patent information in Derwent.
The fields Application Number, Date, and Patent Number may contain multiple data for each country where the patent was published or issued. Retain only the information pertaining to the patent you want to cite (e.g., the US patent) and discard the data for the same patent in other countries. Additionally, discard data unrelated to the respective field (e.g., the date(s) that may be found in the Application Number field).
In the field Year, enter the year when the patent was granted in the chosen country.
It is possible to import references from Google Scholar only one at a time.
Click Google Scholar Settings.
Under Search results ➞ Bibliography manager, select Show links to import citations into ➞ EndNote, and then click Save. This way, the Import into Endnote option will be available under each search result.
Open the EndNote library in which you want to import the references.
Perform your search and click the link Import in EndNote for one reference at a time and an .enw filewill be created.
Double-click the .enw file and the reference will be downloaded in the library.
Check attentively the imported references, which might contain many errors as a result of the direct import and of the lack of consistency of bibliographic references in Google Scholar.
Usually, the references imported from Google Scholar do not contain much information. For each reference, complete the important fields, such as Volume, Issue, Pages, Abstract, DOI, URL, Conference Name, Conference Location, etc.
Open the EndNote library in which you want to import references.
Perform your search and select the relevant references.
In the upper-right corner, click Export➞ Citations, and then choose Format: RIS and Include: Citation & Abstract. Click Download and the .ris file will be created.
Double-click the .ris file and the references will be downloaded to the EndNote library.
The authors' names are imported as Initials Last Name, even though the full names are mentioned in the documents. Change them to Last Name, First Name. Ex.: W. Jiang should be corrected to Jiang, Wen in the Author field.
For conference papers, change the document type in EndNote to Conference paper.
Copy the conference location from the detailed reference of the paper in IEEE Xplore and paste it in the Conference Location field.
Many other databases offer the option to import references into EndNote libraries by direct or indirect import. You can verify if EndNote provides a filter for a certain database.
All in all, regardless of the database and the type of import, we strongly recommend that you always check the imported references in order to make sure the information was transferred properly into the correct fields.
How to import references from Compendex
Watch the video produced by the Polytechnique Library (in French only):