Maps and Geospatial Data
Websites - Canada
- LunarisResearch data discovery service provided by the Digital Research Alliance of Canada. This platform brings together Canadian research data from a variety of repositories: post-secondary institutions, government, research organizations, and national repository initiatives. Lunaris indexes over 80,000 records from more than 100 repositories and includes open data from various governments.
- Natural Resources Canada
Directory of data, maps, and tools classified according to the following topics: energy, forests, earthquakes, mining, weather and environment.
Includes the Atlas of Canada that encompasses several types of maps regarding the environment, society, economy, and history.
Websites – United States
- Open Data website - U.S. GovernementOfficiel website to get open geospatial data related to the USA.
- Geospatial Data Gateway - USDAProvides free access to to a map library of vector and raster files concerning natural resources data and more. Data can be extracted by state, county or through an interactive map portal.
- USGS: Maps, Imagery, and PublicationsUSGS store website.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)Important collection of maps related to various topics and freely accessible.
Websites - International
- Open Geospatial ConsortiumInternational non-profit organization that brings together a consortium of experts dedicated to improving access to geospatial information.
- Free GIS DataCompilation of more than 300 websites providing access to Geospatial Data from around the world by Robin Wilson, a researcher from University of Southhampton, in United Kingdom.
- Maps & Data - World Resources Institute (WRI)Maps and data section published by the WRI.
- World Factbook – Central Intelligence Agency
Features maps and statistical and military data tables, as well as information on the history, population, government, economy, geography, communications, and transportation systems in 267 countries around the world.
Grants access to regional and world maps, flags of the world, physical and geopolitical maps, ocean maps, and time zone maps. - Géoportail - French GovernmentFrance's national geodata portal. IN FRENCH ONLY
- NGA Arctic Support 2017Website containing data on the Arctic region. Various thematic maps can be accessed in the "Data" and "Map Products" sections.
- OpenStreet Map
"A world map made by people just like you and available under the Open Database License."
- Natural EarthOpen access database containing various layers of ready-to-use geospatial data (vectors and rasters) from around the world concerning natural and social aspects. This website is supported by the North American Cartographic Information Society (NACIS) and can be used freely for any type of project.
- GADM - Administratives areasProvides the administrative boundary files for all countries in the word.
