Zotero 7
Important to note
No matter the chosen importation method, it's always possible that problems occur. For this reason, you should always check the imported references for formatting errors and missing information.
Importing references using the Zotero Connector browser extension
The connector is the easiest way to import references into Zotero, as it allows you to import them with one click and without downloading files. We recommend using this method.
Install the connector by following these instructions. The extension appears at the top of the browser, near the navigation bar.
For the Zotero connector to work, Zotero must be open. The connector changes its icon when it recognizes bibliographic data from different types of documents. Some examples are shown in the table below.
|
Article Icon : |
Book Icon : |
Web Page Icon : |
Results page icon: |
|
|
|
|
|
If it is a results page, it will display a folder icon to indicate multiple documents. To import multiple documents from a results page, click on the folder icon. A selection window will open. Select the desired documents and click OK to automatically import all of the selected documents into the Zotero library. If needed, choose the folder where the references will be imported.
To import documents individually rather than in batches, go to the document record. Once the icon displays the correct type of document (article, book...), click on the icon to import it. If necessary, choose the folder in which the reference will be imported.
Once these steps have been completed, all you need to do is verify that the imported information is correct.
If the connector shows the web page icon rather than the correct document type, Zotero does not recognize the bibliographic metadata. Use another import method.
If the connector shows the PDF document icon, don't use this page. The metadata associated with the document is not precise enough to be correctly cited.
User manual created by the Library - Zotero 6 (PDF)
Zotero : Manuel d'utilisation (.pdf) (updated September 2023)
This manual explains how to optimize Zotero's primary features (available only in French).
Import using the Sofia search tool
Sofia is the shared search tool of the Polytechnique Library and other Quebec university libraries. Exporting in batches is only possible by using the browser extension.
To export a document's bibliographic information, click on the Cite button.
A window will open. In the right-hand menu, select the Export to RIS option.
Save the file, note the location, and then open it with Zotero. Follow the steps described in Importing a RIS or .enw file into Zotero, in this guide to finish the importation of the reference.
Creating a reference manually
Still having trouble importing a reference ? Trying to reference an atypical source or format (such as a podcast, report, Tweet, etc.) ? It is also possible to create a reference yourself.
Look for the green plus sign (+) icon, select the reference type, or select More if the document type is not in the displayed list. An empty reference is created. Fill in all the fields necessary to properly cite the document (if necessary, see the style guide used).
Import using an ISBN, DOI or PMID
This method allows you to import a document's bibliographic information easily. It is a good option when there are PDFs or printed documents to add to Zotero. Batch import is also supported.
The DOI is a unique alphanumeric number that identifies scientific articles. The ISBN has the same function for books, while the PMID is a unique identifier for documents listed in the PubMed database.
1. In Zotero, click on the magic wand icon. 
2. Copy the document's identifier (ISBN, DOI or PMID) into the textbox that appears.To add more than one item, simply separate identifiers by spaces, commas, or line breaks.
3. The document has been added to the collection. All that needs to be done now is to verify that the imported data is correct.
Import a .RIS or ENW file into Zotero
RIS files are files that can be downloaded from most databases and Sofia. This is the best way to import references if the browser connector does not work, the document does not have a DOI or ISBN or if a large number of references need to be downloaded.
Save the file from the database or search tool, note the location, then open it with Zotero.
Click File → Import, then locate and select the RIS file with the file explorer.
Zotero offers different import options. It is possible to deselect the option Place imported collections and items into new collection. In this case, you will have to drag and drop the references to the desired collection.
Once these steps are completed, all that remains is to validate the imported information.
Additional methods of importation
- Drag and drop PDFs into Zotero, it will try to extract metadata from the document
- Parse plain-text references with AnyStyle.io (more information in the Troubleshooting tab)
- Import references from another reference management software
