Zotero 7
The only difference since the update on Word fonctionalities is the new "Insert Note" button, which is missing from these screenshots.
Linking Zotero and Word
Zotero's most popular feature is the automatic creation of citations and reference lists directly in a Word document.
The link between Word and Zotero should be created automatically when you download the software. A Zotero tab should appear in Word after installation.
If not, it is possible to reset the link from Zotero. You can find the procedure in the Troubleshooting tab.
Creating an automatic bibliography
After inserting citations into the text, it will be possible to automatically generate the document's bibliography using Zotero.
Start by making sure that the Zotero software is open.
- Place the cursor over where the bibliography should be generated.
- In the Zotero tab of Word, click on Add/Edit Bibliography.
- After a few seconds, a bibliography formatted in the chosen style should appear where the cursor is placed.
Creating an in-text citation
Before creating a reference list, you must add citations to your document.
First make sure that Zotero is open.
- Position the cursor where you want to add the citation.
- In the Zotero tab of the Word document, click on Add / Edit Citation.
- A search bar should appear. Enter the title or the author of the article to be cited.
- The first time the document is opened, you will have to select the desired style in the window that appears.
- After clicking on the Enter key on your keyboard, the reference will be entered into the text.
As a last resort... copy and paste a bibliography
Use this method if the software you are using is Google Docs, Notepad, Pages (Mac), if you are writing an email or to troubleshoot problems if the link between Zotero and Word or LibreOffice does not work.
- Select all relevant references by holding down the CTRL key and clicking on the references to be included in the bibliography.
- Right click on one of the selected references.
- Select the Create Bibliography from Items option.
- The Create a Citation/Bibliography window should then open.
- Select the citation style.
- Choose Bibliography as the creation mode.
- Chose the Copy to Clipboard option.
- It will then be possible to paste the formatted bibliography into the desired location.
User manual created by the Library - Zotero 6 (PDF)
Zotero : Manuel d'utilisation (.pdf) (updated September 2023)
This manual explains how to optimize Zotero's primary features (available only in French).
